2005 Online Journalism Awards – Finalists

[Keyword: ]. The ONA has announced the finalists of its online journalism awards. No best student website nominees. Tut tut. The nominees are copied and listed below.

General Excellence in Online Journalism (Large)

• BBC News, http://www.bbcnews.com
• CNN, http://www.cnn.com
• ESPN, http://www.espn.com
• The New York Times, http://www.nytimes.com
• Nova Online, http://www.pbs.org/nova

General Excellence in Online Journalism (Medium)

• CBS 2 Chicago, http://www.cbs2chicago.com
• New York Newsday, http://www.nynewsday.com
• Frontline/World, http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/
• Spokesman Review, http://www.spokesmanreview.com/

General Excellence in Online Journalism (Small)

• Bluffton Today, http://www.blufftontoday.com
• Congressional Quarterly, http://www.cq.com
• Online Athens, http://www.onlineathens.com
• New West, http://www.newwest.net
• Center for Public Integrity, http://www.publicintegrity.org

Breaking News (Large)

• “Asia’s Deadly Waves,” New York Times, http://www.nytimes.com/indexes/2004/12/27/world/worldspecial4/
• “Laguna Landslide,” Orange County Register, http://www.ocregister.com/ocr/2005/06/01/sections/lagunaslide/
• “Hurricanes of 2004,” Orlando Sentinel, http://www.orlandosentinel.com/storms
• “Storm 2004 Hurricane Coverage,” Palm Beach Post, http://www.palmbeachpost.com/storm/content/weather/special/storm/2004/atlantic/2004coverage.html
• “Tsunami Coverage,” Washington Post, http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A29794-2004Dec27.html

Breaking News (Small)

• “BTK Serial Killer Confesses,” Kansas.com, http://www.kansas.com/mld/kansas/news/special_packages/btk/
• “Microsoft to Gut Longhorn,” Microsoft Watch, http://microsoft-watch.com/article2/0,2180,1640183,00.asp
• “Local Floods,” Middletown NY Times Herald-Record, http://www.recordonline.com/news/special_reports/2005flood/
• “McGowan Family Tragedy,” The Palm Springs Desert Sun, http://www.thedesertsun.com/mcgowan

Online Commentary (Large)

• “Shooting from the Heart” by David Kuo, Beliefnet, http://www.beliefnet.com/story/160/story_16092_1.html
• “Human Nature” by William Saletan, Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/?id=3944&qp=41742&dto=06/30/05&dfrom=07/01/04
• “Ad Report Card” by Seth Stevenson, Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/?id=3944&qp=26609&dto=06/30/05&dfrom=07/01/04
• “Kausfiles” by Mickey Kaus, Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/?id=3944&qp=26088;26457&dto=06/30/05&dfrom=07/01/04
• “Page 2,” ESPN, http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/page2/index
• “Media Hack” by Adam Penenberg, Wired.com, http://www.wired.com/news/storylist/0,2339,1295,00.html

Online Commentary (Medium)

• Chas Rich, “NEO Babble Blog,” http://www.cleveland.com/weblogs/neobabble
• Al Mascitti, The Delaware News Journal, http://www.delawareonline.com/blogs/archive/2004_07_01_first_state.html
• Greg Mitchell, Editor & Publisher, http://www.editorandpublisher.com/eandp/columns/pressingissues_archive.jsp
• “Lawrence.com blogs,” http://www.lawrence.com/blogs/mathis/
• Mark Fiore’s Animated Political Cartoons, http://www.markfiore.com

Online Commentary (Small)

• “Good Morning Silicon Valley,” John Paczkowski, http://blogs.siliconvalley.com/gmsv/
• “The Business Electric,” Arthur O’Donnell, Energy Pulse
http://www.energypulse.net/centers/author.cfm?at_id=495

• “Purely Academic,” Terry Caesar, http://www.insidehighered.com/views/purely_academic
• “Arts:OpEd,” Bill Marx, http://www.wbur.org/arts/archive/op%2Deds/

Outstanding Use of Multiple Media (Large)

• “Class Matters,” New York Times, http://www.nytimes.com/class
• “C.R.O.P Up Close: Donovan State Prison,” San Diego Union Tribune, http://crop.signonsandiego.com
• “A Husband for Vibha,” St. Petersburg Times, http://www.sptimes.com/2004/webspecials04/indianwoman/
• “25 years in Hip Hop,” Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel, http://www.sun-sentinel.com/broadband/theedge/sfl-edge-n-hiphop,0,3806040.flash
• “AIDS in Africa: A Turning Point,” Toronto Globe and Mail, http://www.theglobeandmail.com/special/aidsinafrica

Outstanding Use of Multiple Media (Small)

• “Mission to Mante,” Boulder Daily Camera, http://mante.dailycamera.com/
• “Hip-Hop at 30,” New York Newsday, http://www.nynewsday.com/impulse/music/hiphop/
• “State of the Hudson, Poughkeepsie Journal, http://www.poughkeepsiejournal.com/hudson/
• “My House, My Shack,” SixBillion.org, http://www.sixbillion.org/content.php?issue=3&section=6

Specialty Journalism (Large)

• The Chronicle of Higher Education, http://chronicle.com
• Computer World, http://www.computerworld.com
• ESPN Insider, http://insider.espn.go.com/insider/index
• “OC Varsity,” Orange County Register, http://ocvarsity.com

Specialty (Small)

• “Heritage and Culture,” Scotsman.com, http://heritage.scotsman.com/
• News@nature.com, http://www.nature.com/news
• Fashion Week, New York Newsday, http://www.nynewsday.com/entertainment/custom/fashion/fashionshows/
• ContentNext Media: PaidContent.org, http://www.paidcontent.org
• “Speaking of Faith,” American Public Media, http://speakingoffaith.org

Service journalism (Large)

• “Borrower Beware,” Atlanta Journal-Constitution, http://www.ajc.com/business/content/business/borrowerbeware.html
• “Get Schooled education blog,” Atlanta Journal-Constitution, http://www.ajc.com/metro/content/custom/blogs/education/index.html
• “My Favorite Teacher, Philadelphia Inquirer, http://go.philly.com/favteacher
• “Your Right to Know,” Journal News, http://www.thejournalnews.com/newsroom/foil/

Service Journalism (Small)

• “Unsafe Haven, The Crisis in Home Health Care,” Winston-Salem Journal, http://www.journalnow.com/servlet/Satellite?pagename=WSJ/Page/WSJ_ContentPage&c=Page&cid=1031780628526
• “Living Through Windows…Alzheimer’s Disease,” Grand Island Independent, http://livingthroughwindows.com

Enterprise Journalism (Large)

• “In Harm’s Way,” Houston Chronicle, http://www.chron.com/toxic
• “Murder in Room 103,” Court TV, http://www.courttv.com/room_103/
• “Echo Company,” Knight Ridder, http://www.realcities.com/mld/krwashington/news/special_packages/echo_company/
• “Dot-con Job,” Seattle Times, http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/news/business/infospace/
• “What is Torture?” Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/id/2119122

Enterprise (Small)

• “Beyond Borders,” San Bernardino Sun and Inland Valley Daily Bulletin, http://lang.sbsun.com/socal/beyondborders/
• “Sex, Money and Meth Addiction,” New West, http://www.newwest.net/index.php/main/article/546/
• “Outsourcing the Pentagon,” Center for Public Integrity, http://www.publicintegrity.org/pns/
• “The Attack at the Silk Forest Plant,” Winston Salem Journal, http://silkplantforest.journalnow.com/

Best student website

• No finalists

Student Journalism

• “Hartman Murder Files,” University of Alaska Fairbanks, http://www.uaf.edu/extreme
• “Crossing Borders,” Arizona State University, http://cronkitezine.asu.edu/Mexico
• “Global Messengers,” University of North Carolina, http://www.ibiblio.org/solympics

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.